First post

strange cousin susan has lived a few different places since I started blogging about ten years ago…back then, the blog was called the sheer mad beauty of thrashed eyeliner, which I liked as a title quite a bit, and still do. But strange cousin susan is just a better name, I think. No good reason for it, except it was an awesome throwaway line from The Cat and the Canary, uttered by the esteemed Honor Blackman, who I happen to adore.

In the years I’ve been blogging, platforms used include Blogger, Typepad, self-hosted WordPress, and a strange interlude when it was manual, down to the RSS feed. I’ve decided to go with a WordPress-hosted blog in an effort to cut expenses. Domain registration is not cheap with my current host, nor is their hosting plan. So, I’m hoping to have everything transferred by the end of the year or, if that’s not possible, to have this new blog up and running and ready to go by then.

I could go with another hosting company and I’ve asked a good friend of mine who he uses, since I think he’s been with them for a long time. But in the end, this will be fine for me, so I’m content to land strange cousin susan here for now.

This entry was published on 12/09/2011 at 03:47 and is filed under blog. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “First post

  1. So my silver mac goes away? there were many good times, good times. Farewell to my silver mac!

  2. I’m trying to import my previous blog here. Let’s see how it goes. If it goes well, I’m canceling my domain. After I put up a post about it, of course.

Leave a Reply

